I'm Mandy, a mother of a handsome handful of a toddler. I'm the wife to a relocated Jersey boy at heart for almost five years. I'm a "youngster" in "Corporate Legal America." I'm one-seventh of a dynamically loud and loving family. I'm a woman with newly-diagnosed hypothyroidism, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome and Metabolic Syndrome trying to find a course of treatment that works. I'm a twenty-something trying to find her way on a journey to discover faith, friends and fitness. Most importantly, I'm me. I'm just trying to figure out who that is exactly...

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Getting to know me...

To hopefully avoid the cheesy introductions, let me get straight to the facts.

-It says Amanda on my birth certificate, but you will most likely call me Mandy.  You will only call me Amanda if I'm at church, at work, or you're my mother and you're mad at me.

-I'm a 25-year-old Taurus and my stubborn ways won't let you forget it.

-I have been married to Blake for a little over 4 and a half years.  We met online and were engaged and married within a year.  Being his wife hasn't always been easy, but it has always been worth it.

-Together we have a two-year-old named Cristian (C.J.).  When he is not throwing things and tantrums, he is the light of my life.  Armed with my eyelashes and Blake's blue eyes and dimples, I am going to be chasing girls down on the playground.

-Blake, C.J. and I live with my parents, my younger brother and my uncle.  I have lived in the same house for eighteen years.  We have two dogs.  I know nothing different.  Blake knows nothing different.  We want C.J. to know nothing different.  Our family has been through hell and back and are the true testament to familial love.

-I currently work as a Billing Assistant for the second-largest minority-owned law firm in the United States.  I went to school originally to become a teacher.  Yes, I still wonder how this happened some days.

-I have always been a big girl.  I have not always, however, been proud of my curves.  I am both a recovering anorexic and bulimic.  The anorexia hit at the age of 7 and my bulimic phase lasted for about a year until I became pregnant with Cristian.

-I am an avid scrapbooker, despite not doing it as often as I'd like.  I really had no choice to get into the hobby, considering my husband documents our lives moment by moment via film.  It's relaxing and it's the first crafty hobby that I've been able to keep and maintain.

-I am Mexican, Sicilian, and Polish.  This means I am fiesty, loud and strange.  I'm definitely okay with this.

-I'm not necessarily a born-again Christian, but finding a church to call home and Christian music have helped me find my faith.  I think that this was a missing piece of my personal puzzle for a long time.

Why start a blog, you may ask?  I am looking for a way to document the journeys that life has taken me on of late.

-My son is starting preschool tomorrow.  As a new mom, I am excited and terrified all at the same time.

-My husband and I are planning our first trip away from him for a lengthened period of time.  We are planning to renew our vows in Las Vegas for our fifth anniversary.

-I am getting more involved in our church.  Teaching Sunday School, taking part in workshops, getting hands-on in other activities.

-I am finding that crafty bone in my body and am contemplating going into craft fairs with my mom.

-With preschool taking a chunk out of our budget, I am finding new ways to be thrifty.  I do surveys, get freebies, and clip coupons.  I get some pretty good deals.

-Lastly, and most importantly, I was given a rude awakening to health problems I have.  Very recently, I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, and Metabolic Syndrome.  With a new medication regimen, eating healthy, and working out, I am going to get healthier while still embracing the curves God gave me.

You'll be introduced to the cast of characters along the way, but there are some people you must know.

Blake - Husband
Cristian (C.J.) - Son
Nana and Papi - Parents
Kyle - Brother
U.J. - Uncle
Shiloh and Bronx - Dogs

Mom and Dad R. - Blake's Parents
Sabrina and Anthony - Blake's Sister and Brother-In-Law
Claudia, Samantha and Leigha - Nieces
Grandma - Blake's Grandma

Claire (Mike), Leigh, Annie, Cathy, Katie (Andy), Fenesha (Matt), Cassie (Chris) - Best Friends in Wisconsin
Nadine (Mike), Jess, Lisa - Best Friends in New Jersey

Matt - Kyle's Best Friend (My "Brother")
Kirby and Gary - Blake's Best Friends (who aren't attached to one of my friends)
Emily, J.J., Juli, Lorna, Craig, Aubrey, Ethan, Gaige, Garrett - Some of C.J.'s Friends

There are some things you should expect to see along the way.

-Food logs, workout recaps, recipes and health updates

-Mommy contentments and frustrations (i.e. making it through your son's "Terrible Twos" with everyone alive)

-Insight into typical twenty-something thoughts about faith, friendships and finding myself

-Tips and tricks for saving money, as well as great deals I find

-Crafty realizations and showing off my newest creations

-The joys and sorrows of planning a Vegas vacation

-Lots of pictures, how-to guides, and anecdotes 

There you have it.  My life in a nutshell.  It's definitely going to be an interesting ride.  Glad you could join me.


No comments:

Post a Comment